The 31st Annual Vocal Competition

For over 30 years, Annapolis Opera’s Vocal Competition has given opera students and young professionals in the Mid-Atlantic region the opportunity to hone their craft by performing for a blue-ribbon panel of judges comprised of respected music educators and opera performers. It also gives Artistic Director Ronald J. Gretz a chance to discover new talent for upcoming Annapolis Opera productions. The competition is fierce, with the eight finalists selected from more than 100 outstanding applicants! Prizes total more than $10,000, with each finalist receiving from $1,000 to $5,000.

Held at Maryland Hall for the Creative Arts, the competition spans a weekend, with both semi-finals and finals open to the public, and is FREE, due to a generous grant from The Helena Foundation, Jim and Sylvia Earl.

Semi-Finals: Saturday, April 13, 2019 at 10 AM
Finals: Sunday, April 14, 2019 at 3 PM
Maryland Hall for the Creative Arts | 801 Chase Street, Annapolis, MD



Congratulations to our 2019 Semi-Finalists!

  • Rebecca Achtenberg, soprano
    Rachel Blaustein, soprano
    Matthew Brooks, tenor
    Mindy Brown, soprano
    Emily Buttram, mezzo-soprano
    Nathaniel Buttram, baritone
    Hyunho Cho, tenor
    Jongwon Choi, bass
    Joshua Conyers, baritone
    Claire Cooper, mezzo-soprano

  • Kasey Cwynar-Foye, soprano
    Yihan Duan, soprano
    Amanda Fink, mezzo-soprano
    Jeong Wook Han, tenor
    Rachel Holmes, soprano
    Sunyeop Hwang, baritone
    Min Sang Kim, countertenor
    David Lee, bass-baritone
    Nathan Letourneau, tenor
    Dana MacIntosh, soprano

  • Elise Mark, soprano
    Nina Mutalifu, soprano
    Daniel Rich, baritone
    Jouelle Roberson, soprano
    Kelsey Robertson, mezzo-soprano
    Anastasiia Sidorova, mezzo-soprano
    Kaitlyn Tierney, mezzo-soprano
    Gregory Voinier, baritone
    Christopher Wolf, tenor
    Maria Zoi, mezzo-soprano